• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 _Nambu

_Nambu

• Jackboot Games
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 13 July 2015 - 10:08 AM

Hi all, I am a brand new FE programmer, and I am currently working on the objectives system and capture system.

I thought It' d be a really good thing to have a community-ideas-stimulating-discussion here about how to implement such a system reflecting a teamwork-oriented gameplay. So get ready for a good brainstorming session and post here below your ideas and playing experiences!(but please let me first take a bit of time post about my current design before anything :) )

• kuopassa likes this

#2 _Nambu

_Nambu

• Jackboot Games
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 13 July 2015 - 04:44 PM

So.. here below there are my design's core ideas. They are about a few concepts: cohesion between squads/team on the terrain, favouring squad teamwork, preventing unrealistic tactics like lone wolfing and rewarding good maneuvers.

--Smaller and map-filling objectives

In all the red orchestra (and mods like dh) maps there are zones wich are vital for the match, but their conquer/ownership is not rewarded by the gamearrow-10x10.png.
And with that I am talking especially about flanks and non-objective buildings or cover zones. Also, knowing (by seeing the capzone's state on the minimap) wheter in these zones there are enemies or not is a very good thing, as It would make it far simplier to understand the match's situation.

As I were a newbie too I should point also that don't understanding the situation and getting shot from nowhere makes the gamearrow-10x10.png very punishing and then it becomes very very easy to have newbies leaving the gamearrow-10x10.png. In my opinion, making it simplier would surely help the game.

Another point for having little objectives would be the absence of the "ten players on the bath can cap the house" problem.

--Minimum amount of players to attack